Psychology 3100-200

Spring 2017
Monday Wednesday Friday 12:20 PM to 1:10 PM
Lectures are in Brackett 233
Labs are in Martin E305
Psyc 3101-201 Monday 2:00 to 4:00 PM
Psyc 3101-202 Monday 4:00 to 6:00 PM

January 14, 2017


The purpose of this course is to give you a thorough grounding in the empirical research techniques that we use in psychology. For historical reasons, we call this course "experimental" psychology, but we don't restrict ourselves to true experiments. Survey research, naturalistic observation, and quasi-experiments will also be covered. We'll also give some attention to non-empirical issues; deeper theoretical question in psychology often cannot be evaluated on the basis of empirical data alone. You will get a good deal of practice in writing about your studies—good, clear scientific writing is the goal, not just conformity to the stylistic norms of psychology journals—and in critical thinking about the claims that researchers make.

This is a tough, labor-intensive course. I don't have an attendance policy, because I don't think adults need one. It does not follow that skipping classes is a good idea. There is no textbook. All course materials will be presented in lecture and on Canvas.

Regular attendance at class and lab and timely work on the written assignments are necessary for success in this course. You will be helping to conduct 3 laboratory studies and writing them up: you will be drafting the front sections of your final project (Introduction and Method); you will be preparing an application to submit to the Institutional Review Board; and you will producing a final report of the entire project. (In addition, if you can get us a draft of the Results and Discussion sections for comment a few days before you turn in your final paper, this is likely to be beneficial for you.) Written assignments that are late will have 5 points out of 100 deducted for each day past the due date. It's critical to stay on schedule when there is so much for you to do and for us to grade. If I haven't arrived—or Adam hasn't arrived—within 15 minutes of the scheduled time for a class or lab to begin, you are free to leave.

Instead of tests, there will be a daily quiz, consisting of 1 to 3 questions. (With three class days in most weeks, we will do "daily" quizzes two days out of three, on the average.) You may drop 6 daily quiz grades for any reason (including absences); the daily quiz average will be based on the remaining 21 or 22 quizzes. The volume rules out make-ups, and daily quizzes will not be returned to you; grades for the quizzes will be posted on Blackboard. The final project counts as our final exam.

Your grade will be determined on a contract basis. To receive a grade of A, B, C, or D in this class, you must turn in your IRB submission by the date specified in the schedule below. Each of the other assignments will then count toward your final grade as follows.


Instructor Robert L. Campbell
Office Brackett Hall 410A
Office Hours Tu Th 2:30 to 4:30 PM (and by appointment)
Phone (864) 656-4986
Email campber@clemson.edu
Web http://www.robertlcampbell.com
Teaching Assistant Adam Cox
Office
Office Hours
Phone
Email acox8@g.clemson.edu
Average of 21 or 22 daily quizzes 31%
Study 1 writeup 7%
Study 2 writeup 7%
Study 3 writeup 12%
Final project introduction and references 9%
Final project method section 9%
Complete final project paper 25%

Learning objectives for this course:

Laptop policy:

Laptop computers are helpful in this course, and are necessary to do the data analysis in our labs.

If you bring a laptop to the lectures, please use it for class-related purposes, such as taking notes and access course materials. If I notice that you are playing Solitaire on it, viewing Snapchat or Instagram, or IMing, I may ask you not to bring it back to our next class.

We will be using the SPSS grad pack for statistical analysis. It runs on both Macs and Windows machines. The Psychology Department will provide licenses that are good through the end of August 2017; you will receive these during the first week of classes. If you have a different stat package already installed on your computer that you like, you are welcome to use it; however, our consulting ability is limited to SPSS, plus the other stat packages that one of has recently used (such as SAS-JMP and SOFA).

Cheating policy:
Cheating means providing or accepting information on a quiz (quizzes are meant to be your individual work). Or not being the sole author of your writeups (we encourage you to discuss the writeups and your final project with others, but the actual writing on your lab writeups—and the actual data collection, analysis, and writing on your final project—must be yours alone). If you decide to cheat, we will take action against you according to University policy.


Class Schedule


Date Topic Items Due
Wednesday January 11 Science, Empirical and Theoretical
Friday January 13 Science, Empirical and Theoretical
Monday January 16 MARTIN LUTHER KING DAY
Wednesday January 18 Hypothesis Testing Last day to add
Friday January 20 Hypothesis Testing
Monday January 23 Hypothesis Testing
Wednesday January 25 Hypothesis Testing Last Day to Drop without a W
Friday January 27 Hypothesis Testing
Monday January 30 Getting Ideas for Research
Wednesday February 1 Getting Ideas for Research
Friday February 3 Ethics 1 [Human Subjects]
Monday February 6 Ethics 1 [Human Subjects]
Wednesday February 8 Ethics 1 [Human Subjects]
Friday February 10 Ethics 1 [Human Subjects]
Monday February 13 Ethics 1 [Human Subjects]
Wednesday February 15 Ethics 2 [IRBs] Introduction and Reference section
for Final Project Due
Friday February 17 Ethics 2 [IRBs]
Monday February 20 Ethics 2 [IRBs]
Wednesday February 22 Ethics 2 [IRBs]
Friday February 24 IRB Application Workshop 1
Monday February 27 IRB Application Workshop 2
Wednesday March 1 Ethics 3 [Reporting Data]
Friday March 3 Ethics 3 [Reporting Data] IRB Application due
Monday March 6 Ethics 3 [Reporting Data]
Wednesday March 8 Ethics 3 [Reporting Data]
Friday March 10 Ethics 3 [Reporting Data]
Monday March 13 Ethics 3 [Reporting Data] Method section for Final Project due
Wednesday March 15 Ethics 3 [Reporting Data]
Friday March 17 Psychological Measurement Last day to withdraw without a final grade
Monday-Friday March 20-24 SPRING BREAK
Monday March 27 Psychological Measurement
Wednesday March 29 Psychological Measurement
Friday March 31 Psychological Measurement
Monday April 3 Psychological Measurement
Wednesday April 5 Psychological Measurement
Friday April 7 Psychological Measurement
Monday April 10 Measurement and Operational Definitions
Wednesday April 12 Measurement and Operational Definitions
Friday April 14 Measurement and Operational Definitions
Monday April 17 Sampling
Wednesday April 19 Sampling
Friday April 21 Sampling
Monday April 24 Confounds
Wednesday April 26 Confounds
Friday April 28 Single-IV Experiments: Between Groups
Tuesday May 2
4:30 PM

FINAL PROJECT DUE

Lab Schedule

You should bring your laptop to each lab. We put our data files together using Excel, which we also normally use to find means and standard deviations. For more advanced analysis, we are using the SPSS "grad pack," which runs on both Windows and Mac OS machines.

Date Topic
Monday January 23 Literature Searches
Taught by Peg Tyler
Monday January 30 Study 1
Monday February 6 Study 2
Monday February 13 Study 3
Study 1 report due
Monday February 20 Study 3
Monday February 27 IRB Application Workshop 3
Study 2 report due
Monday March 6 Study 3
Monday March 13 Study 3
Monday March 27 Study 3
Monday April 3 Final report workshop
Monday April 10 Final report workshop
Monday April 17 Final report workshop
Study 3 report due
Monday April 24 Final report workshop

Click here to go to Robert Campbell's Home Page.